Hay Bale Veggie Garden, Here’s How I Did It.

Reposting our original post on How To Grow Vegetables in Hay Bales.

The Urban Gardener

Three years ago, I started to hear about this ‚Äúhay bale gardening.‚ÄĚ ¬†I‚Äôd seen it done many times, but never really stopped to explore the idea, until I got a rush of regular gardening clients that were looking for advice on how to start their own hay bale gardens.

So, I did what any garden consultant does… I started my own.  I am officially hooked!

I started with 5 bales of alfalfa hay.  Choose carefully where you want to place your bales, because once you start watering, there is no moving that wet heavy bale.  Position the bales so that the tied/twined side of the bale is the outer wall.  You need that twine to contain the walls.  I also had a few rods of rebar leftover from another projects, so I drove the rebar into the ground to hold the bales in-place should they ever shift.

Image

Next step: sprinkle 1-cup of ammonium…

View original post 116 more words

Leave a Reply

